• Renewable Energy in the Falkland Islands
  • fc1290
  • DSC00647
  • fc093
  • fc2248
  • DSC00330
  • fc1115
  • fc2829
  • fc3710
  • fc2275

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of 27 member states. Committed to regional integration, the EU was established by the Treaty of Maastricht on 1 November 1993.

The original treaty establishing the European Community (Treaty of Rome, 1958) provided for the inclusion of the numerous Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) in order to increase trade and jointly promote economic and social development.

EU bodies operate under principle of subsidiarity with the key bodies being:

  • European Council: provides political leadership, comprised of heads of state of member countries
  • European Commission: executive arm, responsible for initiating legislation and for the day-to-day running of the EU.
  • European Parliament: legislative arm, members elected every 5 years
  • Court of Justice of the EU: interprets and applies treaties and the Law of the EU.

To read more about how the relationship between the Falkland Islands and the European Union, please use the drop down list on the main menu above, or click on one of the links below:

             - Falkland Islands and the European Union

             - European Development Fund

             - Trade with the European Union